Girls' Football Springs Up Across West Riding!

Girls across West Riding will be provided with increased opportunities to play football after a new nationwide participation programme was announced.

The programme will see 200 SSE Wildcats Girls’ Football Clubs opening throughout England this spring, each run in conjunction with the local County FA and their key partners.   The move will provide girls aged from 5 to 11 with regular opportunities to play football and take part in organised sessions in a fun, engaging and safe environment over a minimum 16 week period.

The project is an integral part of The FA’s objective to double girls’ football participation by 2020 and has been established in a joint partnership between The FA and SSE, supporters of girls’ football participation and sponsor of the SSE Women’s FA Cup

The new SSE Wildcats Girls’ Football Clubs in West Riding County FA will be taking place at:

  • A1 Football Factory, Knottingley  - Scott Rogan 07887 610781 scott@a1footballfactory.com
  • 3Gi Soccer, Halifax – John King  07982 801988
  • BEAP Community Centre, Bradford – Humayun Islam 07868 322723 Humayunislam@ymail.com 
  • Bradford Council, Manningham Sports Centre – Serwat Mir 01274 522750 Serwat.mir2@bradford.gov.uk
  • Wakefield College,  Lightwaves Leisure Centre, Wakefield – Yasmin Ayub 07791 757104 y.ayub@wakefield.ac.uk
  • Queensbury Celtic F.C – Robin Naylor – robin.naylor@qcfc.co.uk http://www.qcfc.co.uk/news/wildcats-girls-football-club-launches-1st-april-1765074.html
  • Farsley Celtic F.C – Maggie Powell – mpowell36@hotmail.co.uk
  • The Hunslet Club – Craig Gilmore  07765 890227 cgilmore@hunsletclub.org.uk
  • Craven College – Luke Swindlehurst 07792 284091 lswindlehurst@craven-college.ac.uk
  • Leeds United Foundation, Football World, Leeds – Gary Waddington 07802 834390 gary.waddington@leedsunited.com
  • Huddersfield Town, Canal Side, Huddersfield – Rob Day Rob.Day@htafcfoundation.com
  • West Riding County FA, Woodlesford, Leeds – Steve Conboy 07889 930947 steve.conboy@westridingfa.com

The SSE Wildcats Girls’ Football Clubs will run in the spring and through to the summer on a weekly basis, either at weekends, after school or during the evening.  Parents and carers who attend with the girls will also have the optional opportunity to take part in football-related fitness sessions at the same time as the girls.

John Stewart, SSE’s Director of Human Resources, said: “We’re delighted to support The FA in setting up these centres, helping to deliver high quality coaching sessions across the country to the next generation of female footballers.” 
“At SSE we are extremely proud to be a fundamental part of supporting the grassroots game. This is a key reason for our sponsorship of the SSE Women’s FA Cup, not only are we focussed on achieving greater awareness of the sport at an elite level, equally as important we are creating more opportunities and relentlessly encouraging more girls to get involved in football.” 

West Riding Women & Girls Officer, Steve Conboy commented: “The junior girls’ leagues in our county have done some fantastic work over the last couple of years to increase mini-soccer opportunities for girls but this new programme will support their efforts going forward and provide a new approach to introduce girls to football.”

For details of how girls can sign-up to join the clubs please contact steve.conboy@westridingfa.com